Williamson County sides with Johnson, Bulso, Fitterer, Ogles and more in Thursday’s election results | Brentwood homepage

Williamson County returned to the polls Thursday for a general election, and Senate Majority Leader Jack Johnson is breathing a sigh of relief.

Johnson, vying for District 27 which covers part of the county, withstood a challenge from Tennessee Stands founder Gary Humble 12,470-11,683 in the unofficial Republican nomination count.

The victory will return Johnson to another term to lead the state Senate without a Democratic challenger in November.

Humble, a more right-wing alternative to Johnson’s established presence, has been noted as critical of Governor Bill Lee’s pandemic response and led protests during the height of said pandemic to eliminate COVID restrictions.

The governor, Sen. Marsha Blackburn and other prominent Republicans gave Johnson their endorsement, but Humble courted support from high-profile figures like financial radio host Dave Ramsey and former Nashville predator Mike Fisher.

Now Johnson will return to lead the state Senate after a tight push from Humble, which fell to three percentage points (49% from 46) and saw Johnson win less than 50% of the vote.

House primaries favor Bulso, Fitterer, more

In District 61 where Rep. Brandon Ogles is walking away, Brentwood attorney Gino Bulso claimed the Republican nomination over military veteran and businessman Bob Ravener 5,162-3,238 in the unofficial results.

Bulso and Ravener’s race was accompanied by heated back-and-forths over which candidate had the more conservative bona fides.

Either way, it will be Bulso who will represent the Republican Party in the race for the Ogles seat in November. He will face Democratic challenger Steven M. Cervantes.

Spring Hill Alderman Matt Fitterer pushed incumbent State Rep. Todd Warner out of his seat to claim the Republican nomination in District 92, 1,549-1,081. Jeff Ford placed third with 455 votes.

Warner has sparked a lot of controversy recently, ranging from his involvement in the FBI’s Dixieland Strategies investigation to campaign violations for illegally placed signs.

Fitterer will face Democrat Angela Hughes in the November general election.

In District 63, formerly held by Glen Casada, unofficial numbers show Jake McCalmon beating controversial candidate Laurie Cardoza-Moore 3,122-2,943 for the Republican nomination and a likely House seat. James Sloan placed third with 967 votes.

McCalmon owns Bulldog Martial Arts in Franklin. Cardoza-Moore, who once served on the state’s textbook commission, had been criticized in the past for her anti-Muslim views and her role in spreading misinformation about the 2020 election, among other criticisms.

McCalmon will face Democrat Kisha Davis in November.

In District 65, Representative Sam Whitson ran unopposed for the Republican nomination and is set to be re-elected in November without a Democratic challenger.

Williamson favors Ogles for District 5 House nomination

With Maury County Mayor Andy Ogles winning the House of Representatives District 5 Republican field, Williamson’s voting bracket showed residents favoring the winner.

Ogles got 6,832 votes for the nomination over candidates like Beth Harwell (4,079) and Kurt Winstead (3,492).

He will face Democratic challenger Heidi Campbell for a seat in the country’s House of Representatives.

Williamson resident Robby Starbuck, who was kicked out of the ballot by his own party earlier this year and campaigned for District 5, got 394 votes. He had signs all over the county and the support of U.S. Senator Rand Paul.

Meanwhile, U.S. Representative Mark Green ran unopposed for District 7 and will run against Democrat Odessa Kelly in November.

Whidby serves as Williamson County Clerk

In the race for county clerks, Republican Jeff Whidby will retain the position once held by his grandmother Elaine Anderson. He beat Democratic challenger Deborah Campbell Sparks 24,697-9,470 to take the job.

Whidby defeated former embattled state Rep. and House Speaker Casada in the Republican primary in May.

The Williamson commission presents all the winning Republicans

The county commission also won a new group of commissioners in Thursday’s vote count. Republicans won all eligible seats.

In District 1, Republicans Ricky D. Jones and Lisa Lenox won over Democrat LaRhonda Williams.

In District 3, Republicans Jeff Graves and Jennifer Moore Mason edged out Democrat Matt Harakas and Independent Daniel Jordan for the two seats.

In District 4, Republicans Gregg B. Lawrence and Pete Stresser were winners by independent Tom Atema Jr.

In District 5, Republicans Greg Sanford and Mary Smith overcame challenges from independents Michael Gallick and Evan Bledsoe.

In District 10, Republicans Meghan Guffee and David Landrum won seats over Democratic challengers Courtenay Rogers and Kenneth Townsend.

In District 11, Republicans Sean R. Aiello and Brian Beathard edged out Democrat Johnna D. Carter-Haynes for the two available seats.

In District 12, Republicans Brian Clifford and Steve Smith beat Democrat Erin Crawford for the two commissioner seats.

Although in District 2, Republicans Judy Lynch Herbert and Elizabeth C. “Betsy” Hester ran unopposed, as did fellow Republicans Erin Nations Paul L. Webb (District 6) Bert Chalfant (District 7), Tom Tunnicliffe (District 7), Barb Sturgeon (District 8), Drew Torres (District 8), Chas Morton (District 9) and Matt Williams (District 9).

Expected results for Williamson’s mayoral, sheriff and gubernatorial primaries

No surprises were found in county races for mayor, sheriff and in the governor’s primaries.

Williamson County Mayor Rogers Anderson will retain his position over independent challenger Stephen “Coach” Done, while Williamson County Sheriff Dusty Rhoades ran unopposed for another term.

Governor Lee had no challengers in the Republican primary, while Dr. Jason Martin appears to have beaten JB Smiley Jr. and Carnita Faye Atwater to claim the Democratic nomination for governor. He also took the lion’s share of votes from Williamson.

Lee and Martin are set to face off in November, with the former set to win a second term.

Other confirmed elected officials for positions

Below are other Williamson County elected officials who ran unopposed and were confirmed for their positions in Thursday’s tally.

  • Judge Joseph “Woody” Woodruff, Circuit Court Div. Me, District 21
  • Judge Deana C. Hood, Circuit Court Div. II, District 21
  • Judge Michael W. Binkley, Circuit Court Div. III, District 21
  • Judge Deanna Bell Johnson, Circuit Court Div. IV, District 21
  • Williamson County District Attorney Kim Helper
  • Williamson County Public Defender Greg Burlison
  • County Administrator Karen Paris
  • Judge Denise Andre, General Sessions, Part I
  • Judge Tom Taylor, General Sessions, Part II
  • Judge Sharon Guffee, Juvenile Court
  • Debbie McMillin Barrett, Clerk of the Circuit Court
  • Margaret Gurley Mahew, Registrar of Juvenile Court
  • Sherry Anderson, Record of Deeds
  • Judge Shannon L. Crutcher, Municipal Court, Town of Fairview
  • Gina Mangrum, Town Clerk, Town of Fairview

Comments are closed.